No Prizes For Guessing The Nationality Of The New Scripps Spelling Bee Champion. Indian Origin Kids Rule Spelling Bee Again!

It has now become more of a tradition for Indians to win the Scripps National Spelling Bee Champions. Just as expected and as has been the norm for the last 7 years, the championship goes to Indians. Yeah, you read that right. Two Indians tied for the top spot this time.

This tradition has expectedly ticked off a lot of native Americans and quite a few of them have resorted to posting racist slurs on social media websites. But do we care? We are the champions and these kids have continued to make the country proud year on year. Haters can hate!

We bring to you a few of the final winning moments from the final rounds from the recent past.


2014: Sriram Hathwar and Ansun Sujoe shared the top honors


2013: Arvind Mahankali won with a giggle


2012: Snigdha Nandipati won with no fuss


2011: Sukanya Roy


2010: A calm Anamika Veeramani

2009: An emotional Kavya Shivashankar did a comeback win


2008: Sameer Mishra, perhaps the funniest winner of all time


A bonus video of Sameer Mishra cracking “Numbnut” en route to his victory in 2008


You may also like...